## AMOLF wins NNV Diversity Award 2022

The NNV Diversity Award 2022 has been awarded to AMOLF, the NWO institute that performs leading fundamental research on complex forms of matter and new materials. The jury was impressed by the efforts, the results of the diversity and inclusion policy and the active involvement of the younger generation in shaping its implementation.

The prize was awarded by NNV chair Christa Hooijer during the group leader dinner at the NWO Physics conference in Veldhoven on April 3, 2023. The NNV Diversity Prize is awarded every two years by the Netherlands' Physical Society to the physics institute that demonstrates the most successful implementation of equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in practice. The prize is a tribute and offers an inspiring example for other institutes and/or departments. The jury makes a first selection based on submitted documents and then visits the nominated institutes to discuss with the management and a delegation of employees and students on site.

In addition to the winning institute, the jury also visited TNO High Tech Industry and the Institute for Theoretical Physics (ITP) of Utrecht University, both of which also deserve compliments for their activities. The ITP succeeded in achieving a better gender balance in a short period of time and was the first institute within UU to install an EDI committee. TNO High Tech Industry has taken a professional approach to implementing a policy to achieve a more diverse and inclusive organisation. An internal network of D&I ambassadors supports the implementation of the policy. The jury judged that AMOLF was the most advanced in terms of sustainability of the policy and that AMOLF therefore deserves the award.

AMOLF was nominated for the Diversity Prize for the second time. The jury noted that significant progress has been made since 2020, including the implementation of measures described in the Gender Equality Plan 2018-2022. The institute's Diversity and Inclusion Plan 2022-2026 has a broader definition of diversity. Explicit numerical targets are provided for enhancing the fraction of women at all levels in the institute, while other KPIs include the (compulsory) training of all newly hired employees and the compulsory organisation of diversity awareness events. The jury was particularly impressed by the genuine enthusiasm of younger staff and students at AMOLF for the inclusive working environment. The jury appreciates the enthusiasm and determination of the management to make AMOLF a diverse and inclusive research institute.

The NNV warmly congratulates AMOLF and hopes that institutions within the field of physics will be inspired by the activities developed by the institutes mentioned above. In addition, the NNV thanks the jury. The jury was composed as follows: Sylvia Barlag (retired Director Security of Thales, Council Member of World Athletics), Helma van den Berg (Diversity and Inclusion Officer at TNO), Job de Kleuver (Programme manager large international facilities, NWO-I), Vinod Subramaniam (President of the Executive Board of University of Twente), Leo Wouter (Mathematics and Physics Teacher at Summa Engineering College in Eindhoven, member of the diversity committee of NNV) and chair Els de Wolf (retired (astro)particle physicist, Nikhef).

A next edition of the Dutch Journal of Physics (Nederlands Tijdschrift voor Natuurkunde) pays attention to the winner and the policy pursued.

